You are what you eat; I’m a lot – PART 1


Well, I was reading an article in Reader’s Digest about fast food being a neglected vehicle for change. It also talked about how fresh food is not ever going to be available where it is need most and while some of it was a good argument, some of it was not.

 

First, I’d like to address calories! This topic is something that people get twisted. A calorie is a unit of measurement where it its the amount of energy needed to raise mass by 1°C. This is not really important to understand; all you need to gleam is that calorie equals energy. There are fun complex ways to measure this, but again, they’re not that important in the rudimentary understanding of food. For every gram fat has 9 calories, alcohol has 7 calories, protein and carbs have 4 calories, sweetener have 2.4 calories, and fiber has 2 calories. The one thing people don’t get from this is that calories = fuel and CALORIES = CALORIES.

 

This is not to say that there aren’t better ways to get calories. You should look for food that’s giving you the most bang for your buck. If you are underweight, get your calories is batches. If your muscle building, you should get more protein. Want to lose weight then maybe you need to feel full with fiber (fiber=full, the longer it takes to digest the better, next best is protein). You should try to get more fiber and vitamins in what you eat. Obviously, a honeybun doesn’t have much but sugar and carbs. Try to get a little of all the food and vitamins too. This is where the label reading comes in.

 

Let’s talk sugar and carbs in diets. This is the part is where I will diverge from some of the other healthy people I know. I don’t believe in exclusion dieting (maybe I’ll address juicing in another article). I’m a vegan, but this doesn’t mean I exclude. You can get just about anything from multiple sources. You don’t need milk for calcium (this I will write about later in the week); you can get it from dark leafy greens. The worst thing, in my opinion, is nixing a food group. Unless you get rid of it forever, you will gain it back as you reintroduce it. If you do modify your diet TELL YOUR DOCTOR!!! There are tests you can have to make sure you get the nutrients that you need. The more nutrient dense the better it is.

 

Let’s keep it sweet. Corn syrup, white sugar, brown sugar, agave nectar, honey? All sugar. Sugar is calorie dense. Not everyone agrees on which sugars are worst, but remember CALORIE = CALORIE. I don’t think that calories from sugar is bad. Fruit has sugar, for peet sakes! The thing is that too much of anything is bad. Sugar is a bit special as it’s particularly easy to digest and can get into your blood stream very quickly. You want to eat your sugars in small servings to keep your glucose levels good. Also, too much sugar can confuse your appetite. Just use logic, everything in moderation.

 

Lastly, let me say that the less artificial the better. I have a pretty easy way to explain this; we don’t know what they can do in the long term. What we do know is that people are now bigger and sicker, so there is a problem in there. For example, there are some zero calories that increase cancer risk(aspartame). What else can artificial food do? Really diet is a simple equation. Energy in </>/= Energy out! If you want to lose weight energy in < energy out. Maintaining means equal. Gaining means more in than out.

 

This is j.lol’s simple explanation about food. I’m going to continue on in other various topics involving diet. Please understand that food is super complex, so I’m just talking the basics. I know there are some people that will disagree with me, and that’s ok. Please comment if you have a topic you might want to talk about or have explained in depth. Keep on climbing!

2 thoughts on “You are what you eat; I’m a lot – PART 1

  1. Very informative, j.lol! I try to limit carbs in my diet, but I don’t really exclude grain completely. I try to eat flax in lieu of oats and wheats. Whole foods when I can. Berries over other fruits, although I’m known to cheat and eat an pomagranate when in season. Keep up the great work with your blog!

    Rob

Share Your Story

